The Indian Council of Historical Research (ICHR) is an autonomous organization under the Ministry of Education, Government of India, It was established by the Ministry of Education & Social Welfare, Govt. of India (now, Ministry of Education) on 27th March 1972 on the recommendation of a Working Group set up by the Government of India in December 1971. The respective numbers of the committee were Professor R.S. Sharma, Patna University (Chairman): Professor Satish Chandra, Jawaharlal Nehru University: Professor Tapan Ray Chaudhuri, Delhi University: Dr. S.N. Prasad, Director, National Archives: Shri J. Veeraraghvan, Director (Internal Finance), Ministry of Education & Social Welfare: and Smt. S. Doraiswami, Deputy Education Adviser, Ministry of Education & Social Welfare. ICHR was registered under Societies Registration Act (Act xxi of 1860) being an Act for registration of Literary, Scientific and Charitable Societies in India.